Home » Family » This Year Marks A Decade Of My Life, I Will Never Forget. Chapter Two

This Year Marks A Decade Of My Life, I Will Never Forget. Chapter Two

Baby Daddy Drama……

2005 marked my Grandparents 50th wedding anniversary, Kyla was 4 weeks old, and we were dinning at a fancy restaurant with my Mom’s side of the family. I will never forget that day. That was the day I found out that Kyla’s Bio-Dad (or ‘sperm donor’, as his Mother likes to call him) had a new Girlfriend. The news of a new Girlfriend didn’t bother me. It was her age……. she was only 17. He would have been 24 years of age at the time; she was 17 and her name was Jenn. That was when I decided to take him to court for full custody and child support (which I wasn’t getting).

Through out my pregnancy he played me, and everyone else. Girl after Girl, he tried running from the truth, and the responsibility he didn’t want. And because of his constant refusal to admit that he was the Father. My Dad offered to pay for a paternity test. Brad refused to get one.

After the baby was born, I tried to be civil. I took Kyla over to his place so she could visit with him. Every time there was a group of his friends there. Then one time his new girlfriend was there. I sat in the kitchen watching him hold his baby, while this 17 year-old girl cooed over my Daughter. I noticed that Jenn had a Dora backpack. I was disgusted that Brad was the Father of my baby, and he had a girlfriend who carried a Dora the Explorer backpack. Yep…I had a problem with that. I told him that his baby comes first. And that we need to be civil with each other for her sake. That conversation didn’t go well. He seemed to have so much anger with me. One time he left a nasty message on my voicemail He must have called me every name in the book. I was scared at what he might do. So I made a report with the police.

After that he started to care a little less about the baby. He wouldn’t pay child support, buy diapers, formula, or anything. Then our first court date came. I dressed in black dress pants, a pink turtle neck sweater, heels, and put my hair up. I had a lawyer, and I was ready to go. Brad showed up in blue jeans, long hair, a brown leather jacket, and no lawyer. The judge seemed slightly pissed, and gave us another court date.

Court day number 2 came and I again was with my lawyer, dressed in a professional manner. Brad didn’t show………. So the judge granted me full custody, and ordered Brad to pay child support, and arrears that were owing since Kyla was born. A few weeks later Brad moved to British Columbia with his 17 year-old girlfriend. Kyla and I never saw him again.

I remember thinking; “Why did he sign the Birth Registration if he didn’t want anything to do with her?”. I mean he could have walked away scott free if he didn’t sign. I guess I will never know why he did sign those papers.

In 2007 I was ready to go back to work. I enrolled Kyla into Daycare, and off I went. I got a full-time job working at a dry cleaners. It wasn’t a fancy job, but it payed the bills. There still wasn’t any child support coming in, so I needed any hours I could get. I worked Monday-Friday 8am-5 pm and every Saturday 9am-5pm. Than some weekends my parents would take Kyla for the night, and I would go hang out with my Bestie Natalie, her Husband Josh, and some of his friends. I was happy. Kyla was happy. Life was good.

There were times, living alone with a baby was scary. When Kyla was just a baby, I was living in the one bedroom apartment. Two Men knocked on my door. I saw them through the peep hole. This creepy feeling ran through me. When I didn’t answer the door, one of them said ” Answer the door, we’re not going to hurt you”. I had just put Kyla’s new crib together, and the box was still in the hallway. So these guys knew I was there with a baby. I picked up the phone and called Natalie. The plan was, her Husband was going to come over, pretend to be my boyfriend, and scare those guys away. But while I was on the phone with her I mentioned the police. The guys heard me and said “Police?”. And they left. I may have slept with a knife beside the bed that night. I was terrified.

In 2009 I was in a car accident. I was in Georgetown, and this young girl in a Chrysler company van rear ended me. My car was totaled. I had whiplash, and had to take 6 weeks off of work. Thank God Kyla was not in the car. The whole frame was shifted, her side ( back passengers side) got the worst of it. Because I had to take so much time off, if caused me a lot of grief at work. People got nasty. The work environment got so bad, that I decided to quit. The job hunting began, and I had to find one fast.

To Be Continued…….

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment